7/4/08-Good Morning America on Lyme

Alright..this Video was OK, I felt CNN was much better. Some of this newscast I can somewhat agree with.  My question is why did they not have a Infectious Disease Doctor, or one who ‘Specializes’ in the studies on Lyme to interview?? What really bothers me is, I feel like their putting it out to the public that this is ‘Curable’. A couple days or a week of antibiotics and your good to go. Thats how most people end up spending the next 10yrs of their life getting more severe symptoms,spending billions of dollars on doctors telling them they have something else. Most of us Lyme patients will tell you, we feel its about luck. You come to my Doctors office, we all have the same story. Even people who’s blood work was positive or they did have a rash or see a tick, their still told they don’t have Lyme. Finding the RIGHT Doctor, how fast enough you are treated, the duration of treatment, combination of antibiotics, and how good your immune system is at the time of the infection has MUCH to do with the outcome. Not to mention testing isn’t always reliable, they tend to make that clear.

My feeling is, if I want to take the risks I should be allowed to do the IV Antibiotic Treatment without persecution. Our Lyme Doctors shouldn’t have to worry about losing their license’s to save lives! Its not like we don’t know the risks, I mean there are risks with any treatment. I’ve known people with Cancer who have had problems after chemo and radiation, loss of hearing, burns, etc. My biggest concern is what they are telling people to look for in ways of symptoms..the percentage’s of getting a rash in studies recently are only 40% of people knowing or seeing a rash or tick bite. Not all rashes look alike either! They did not go into talking about the Co-Infections either, which is the key to treating Lyme Disease. They talk about Science..aren’t people like me and others proof enough that long-term antibiotics work?? When it all comes down to it, its about Money & Politics..so what else is new in this country..

4 Responses

  1. This piece stared out pretty good, then had some misinformation at the end. It did not mention other infections the tick can give and the fact that a small percentage of people NOT 70-80% of people get a rash and there are different shaped rashes, and that if you do NOT catch it early, a person may need months to years to open ended treatment of antibiotics to clear symptoms. Very disappointed in the coverage that ABC presented. They need to do their homework, show a follow up with more accurate facts. CNN did a better piece, watch that for some clues. Also, perhaps they could of had a doctor on that supports the fact that it IS a persistent infection in the later stages of the illness. We really need to expose this horrifying illness properly called Borrelia Burgdorferi, Lyme is the name of the town that the CDC first noted the illness.

  2. Hello! I’m so happy I found your blog 🙂 I was just diagnosed with lyme disease 3 months ago (though I’ve been sick for over 3 years), and I just decided last week that I was going to start blogging about it. So I hope you don’t mind, but I put a link to your blog on mine 🙂 I was just hoping to maybe create a little lyme blogging community, where we could kind of all cheer each other on in our battle against the spirochetes. It’s hard to find support with this painful, yet controversial disease. So I’m off to go read your story now! Hope you don’t mind any of this. If you’re interested, the link to my blog is http://lifelymelearning.blogspot.com/

    Good luck to you, best wishes!

  3. Hello again!

    Thanks for linking my blog to yours! I’m hoping to find other nice lymie bloggers like yourself 🙂 Your blog is fantastic. There’s so much information here! I hope to get my blog all fixed up nicely like yours someday.

    To answer some of your questions- I DO see a holistic doctor in Northern California. I don’t see the famous Dr. Stricker or Dr. Harris though. That may be a good thing since I became so ill on antibiotics! Thank goodness that this doctor knows of alternative approaches. How are you doing on your protocol now? I know you mentioned being on IV treatment. Do you like your doctor?

    My next step in my protocol is to add a “mag pulser”. Have you ever used one or heard of it?

    Oh, and your question about co-infections! Well, I’ve got quite the co-infection load (but who doesn’t, right?). I actually had the highest amount of mycoplasma that my doctor had ever seen. That may be why I became so ill. I also have Babesia and a small amount of “HME” (whatever that is), and now we’re suspecting Bartonella. How about you?

    Well, I hope you’re doing well. I’d love to meet some of the lymies that you’ve been chatting with. I think it’s so great that you have each other’s support! Do they have blogs too?

    I hope all is well!

  4. Tahnks for posting

Leave a Reply

